JavaScript is required to consult this page
Event24 Jan 2022

Advancing a responsible, ethical vision for EBRAINS

Organized in collaboration with the Human Brain Project (HBP) experts on Ethics and Responsible Research, the meeting gathered a renowned panel of international experts.

As a European research infrastructure, EBRAINS serves the scientific community and aims to promote the public good. At EBRAINS, we strongly believe that true scientific and technical excellence requires the integration of ethical and social concerns into all our activities.

To achieve this vision, EBRAINS is building on the contributions of the Human Brain Project to drive and promote high ethical standards and principles of responsible research and innovation among our users, partners, and communities.

List of participants:

Tamami Fukushi, Visiting Researcher, Division of Cerebral Integration in Department of System Neuroscience, National Institute of Physiological Sciences (NIPS)/AMED
Marcello Ienca, Group Leader, Head of the Intelligent Systems Ethics Unit, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Lausanne (EPFL)
Judy Illes, UBC Distinguished University Scholar, Professor of Neurology, Director, Neuroethics Canada, University of British Columbia, Canada
Philipp Kellmeyer, Neuroethics and AI Ethics Lab, Department of Neurosurgery, University Medical Center Freiburg
Caroline Montojo, President and CEO, Dana Foundation
Siobhan O’Sullivan, Professor, Healthcare Ethics and Law in the Royal College of Surgeons of Ireland
Khara Ramos, Vice President, Neuroscience within Society, Dana Foundation
Karin S. Rommelfanger, PhD, Founder Institute of Neuroethics Think and Do Tank; Co-chair Global Neuroethics Working Group, IBI
Norihiro Sadato, Professor, National Institute for Physiological Sciences, Japan
Diana Saville, Cofounder and COO, BrainMind, Cofounder and President, Entrepreneur of Your Own Life
Karin Seeher, Brain Health Unit, Department of Mental Health and Substance Use, World Health Organization
Hilary Sutcliffe, Director, SocietyInside, UK
David Winickoff, Senior Policy Analyst and Secretary of the Working Party on Bio-, Nano- and Converging Technology (BNCT), OECD
Angela Wroblewski, Institute for Advanced Studies, Austria

EBRAINS Task Force:

Lise Bitsch, The Danish Board of Technology
Jan Bjaalie, Department of Molecular Medicine, University of Oslo
Kathinka Evers, Center for Research Ethics and Bioethics, Uppsala University
Christian Fauteux, HBP and EBRAINS
Florent Gaillard, HBP and EBRAINS
Karin Grasenick, Managing Partner of Convelop
Lars Klüver, The Danish Board of Technology
Arleen Salles, Center for Research Ethics and Bioethics, Uppsala University
Bernd Stahl, Computing, Engineering and Media, De Montfort University
Paweł Świeboda, DG HBP, CEO EBRAINS
Inga Ulnicane, School of Computer Science and Informatics, De Montfort University

News & events

All news & events

Make the most out of EBRAINS

EBRAINS is open and free. Sign up now for complete access to our tools and services.

Ready to get started?Create your account